The Vintners Club was founded in 1971 by a group of visionaries for the purpose of advancing wine education. It is a California nonprofit public-benefit corporation and has been granted tax-exempt status as an educational organization under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. A volunteer seven-member Board of Directors manages the activities of the Club.

Jerry Draper, Reed Foster and Paul Rehs were the first three presidents of the Club. In 2003, the Board of Directors elected Rick Waterman as the Club's fourth president. Rick is a retired pharmaceutical scientist and attorney, and a former Sonoma County award-winning vintner. Lalita Waterman has served as the Vice-President & Treasurer since 2001. She is a retired biologist, classical dancer, concert pianist and attorney. The Secretary of the Corporation is Jack Mills, an oral surgeon, who joined the Board in 2002. Muriel Wilson (a landscape architect) joined the Board in 2006. In January 2009, Julie Morin-Wisner (a businesswoman) was elected to the Board; and, in 2010, Norris Boothe (an internet executive) was elected to the Board. In May 2014, Steven Sacks, an attorney, was appointed to complete the term of Dr. Roger Smith. In January 2015, John Tracy, a solid state physicist and entrepreneur, was appointed to serve a three-year term.

All Officers and Directors serve on a volunteer basis and receive no payment for their services.